CAMBRIDGESHIRE COUNTY CHESS ASSOCIATION

Minutes of the AGM held on 14 June 2012

1. Attendance

The meeting was attended by Norman Wedley (Chairman), Francis Bowers, Patrick Ribbands, Norman Hutchinson, Paul Kemp, John Bygrave, Marcus Misson, Phil Turp, Colin Emery, Brian Taylor, Ashley Stewart, Chris Russell, Paul Hanks.

2. Apologies for absence

No apologies had been received.

3. Minutes of the AGM held on 16 June 2011

The minutes were summarised and approved.

4. Matter arising

There were no matters arising.

5. Reports of Association officers for 2011/12

League Secretary : The league ran without defaults and only a few problems though some rearranged matches had been forgotten (even by home sides!). Royston won Division 1 after a hard fight with Peterborough. Division 2 had also been tight with St Neots edging out Warboys B. In the final of the Fenland Trophy, Peterborough gained their revenge against Royston whilst Warboys beat New England for the Fenland Plate.

Tournament Secretary: Twenty-one entrants contested the County Individual Championship continuing its weekend congress format at PSL Club, Peterborough with a prize fund of £100. A Timosenko was the winner and was awarded the trophy. D Redman won the Junior title. Thanks were give to I Garrett who acted as controller. A new venue would be required for next year and with typical costs being £160-180, the entry fee may triple with a discount for ECF members.

Team 550 Organiser : Cambridge Rowers from the South beat St Neots in the play-off 2¹/₂ - 1¹/₂.

Special Events Organiser: The South restored their comfortable advantage in the annual match against the North at the start of the season. Linton again finished strongly to win the Jamboree. Two Rapidplays were held during the year. A new event in October attracted 77 players to Whittlesford and included many fresh names. Prizewinners were Harriet Hunt in the Open, Ian Evans in the Major while Owen Robinson and Haranobu Oyama shared the Challengers' section. 76 contests participated in April at Peterborough which suffered a late change of venue without mishap. As a result, venue hire costs were incurred but offset by a profit from catering. Ieuan Ward won the Open with A Timosenko holding the Jack Taylor trophy, Dean Hartley the Major and the Challengers' section resulted in a six-way tie. The high number and successful performance of juniors was a notable feature of the tournaments. Both competitions returned a healthy surplus though numbers may reduce next year due to the expected increase in fees. Thanks were given to all helpers and to P Kemp for his organisation. John Beck won the Cambridgeshire Grand Prix.

Junior Organisers : Cambridge City Club had been nominated for an ECF award due to their efforts in junior chess. Otherwise, junior participation continues at a low level in the county. No report was received from N Jackson and it was not known whether a junior championship had taken place. Better publicity for such events was encouraged.

County Team Captains: The Open Team had come third in its EACU group after beating Bedfordshire twice but losing narrowly to Norfolk and Suffolk. In the Minor Counties, the team lost to Leicestershire and a subsequent appeal against the opposition board order was not upheld. The Under-160 Team came second within the EACU but came up against a clutch of strong juniors for Greater Manchester in a match played in Warwickshire. The Under-120 Team lost to Norfolk.

Website coordinator :Sections of the website had not been updated but the League Secretary hadcirculated a monthly bulletin by email. Phil Turp gave a status report which recommended a temporary namechange to www.cambschess.co.uk to facilitate transfer until the current website lapsed. The domain namewould cost £3/year and professional hosting £4/month + VAT. As the funds could afford this, the change wasapproved.

ECF & EACU delegates : The most relevant matter concerned the potential application of Hertfordshire to play at least some county matches within the EACU to reduce its travel commitments.

6. Report of the Treasurer and Adoption of the 2010/11 Accounts

See attached statement. Some confusion over £18-71 for grading internal games at New England club had been resolved. Losses were incurred on team county matches and the prize fund had reduced the profitability of the County Individual Championship. The Rapidplay tournaments had contributed £357 leading to an annual profit of £442-42. C Emery proposed and F Bowers seconded acceptance of the accounts.

The new ECF membership scheme was explained and it was recommended that a statement of its impact within the county be prepared for circulation to the CCCA membership. As a result of this, future league entry fees are likely to drop to a nominal level.

7. Election of Officers for 2012/13

The following officers were elected:

Position	Nominee	Proposer	Seconder
Chairman	Norman Wedley	Paul Kemp	Francis Bowers
Vice-Chairman	Chris Russell	Francis Bowers	Paul Kemp
Secretary	Paul Hanks	Paul Kemp	Francis Bowers
Treasurer	Norman Hutchinson	Colin Emery	Francis Bowers
League Secretary	Paul Kemp	Colin Emery	Norman Hutchinson
Team 550 Organiser	r au Kemp	Collin Entery	
Tournament Secretary	Francis Bowers	Colin Emery	Paul Kemp
Special Events	Paul Kemp	Paul Hanks	Norman Hutchinson
Organiser	Faurkenip	Faul Halliks	
Junior Organiser	Francis Bowers	Colin Emery	Paul Kemp
Match Captains: Open	Francis Bowers ¹	Colin Emery	Paul Kemp
U160	Patrick Ribbands	Norman Hutchinson	Marcus Misson
U140	Andy Ellis ²	Marcus Misson	Paul Kemp
Website Co-ordinator	Phil Turp	Paul Kemp	Francis Bowers
Grading Officers	Patrick Ribbands Chris Russell	Paul Hanks	Francis Bowers
Auditor	Paul Kemp	Colin Emery	Paul Hanks
ECF Delegate	Marcus Misson	Francis Bowers	Paul Kemp
	Norman Wedley		
EACU Delegates	Paul Hanks	Marcus Misson	Colin Emery
	Francis Bowers		

1 Paul Kemp or Ashley Stewart to act as Vice-Captains on match days as necessary

1 Paul Kemp or Ashley Stewart to act as Vid 2 Patrick Ribbands to confirm willingness

8. Any Other Business

Trophies : The following trophies were presented :

Trophy	Winner	Received by
Division One	Royston	Kevin Clark
Division Two	St Neots	Colin Emery
Jamboree	Linton	Norman Hutchinson
Fenland Trophy	Peterborough	Francis Bowers
Fenland Plate	Warboys	Marcus Misson
Team 550	Cambridge	Patrick Ribbands
Grand Prix	John Beck	Marcus Misson

League Structure : Warboys club proposed to combine the League and Team 550 competitions to form an Open division similar to the current First Division, a Major division with 4 players/team and a maximum total grade of 600 and a Minor division with 3 players/team and maximum total grade of 375. The intention was that the all-play-all competitions would increase the number of formal games on offer to club players. F Bowers proposed an amendment that the grade limits be expunged. Most clubs expressed

resistance to the implied extra travel to the extremes of the county and the proposal was withdrawn due to lack of support.

Publicity and Recruitment : With the continuing decline in membership, clubs were asked for ideas to encourage membership with proposals to be discussed at the Executive Committee meeting.

County Championship : Tentative dates for the County Individual are 17-18th November at St B's Hall, Yaxley - a venue with a capacity for 60 people.

ECM date and venue : Subject to confirmation by John Bygrave, the ECM is due to be held on Thursday 13th September 2012 at Godmanchester Comrades Club (entrance in St Anne's Lane). Godmanchester were thanked for allowing their venue to be used for this meeting.

PAUL HANKS Association Secretary